The different cycles

Cycle 1: preschool a unique and fundamental cycle

The main objective of the preschool is to allow the child to become an independent student, that is to say to give the taste to go to school to learn, to assert and to develop his personality. To do this, it adapts to the rhythm of each person by developing motor, sensory, relational and intellectual capacities.

The learning is structured around 5 areas:

- Mobilize language in all its dimensions,

- Act, express yourself, understand through physical activity,

- Act, express oneself, understand through artistic activities,

- Build the first tools to structure your thinking,

- Explore the world.

In preschool: 8 hours are taught in English (a third of the time).
These 8 hours are devoted either to the study of the language or to the teachings of DNL * (arts, sport, history).

The DNL lessons being provided in "co-intervention", in the presence of a French-speaking teacher and an English-speaking teacher.

Cycle 2: cycle of fundamental learning (CP, CE1, and CE2)

Our teaching method allows the gradual acquisition of the skills set by the French Ministry of National Education.

The projects set up by the teaching teams include work based on skills (reading, scientific or transversal projects). It is about manipulating, experimenting, developing hypotheses, checking them and solving problems.

All this, with the sole objective of allowing children to be actors in their learning. We do not want to inundate our students with information, but that they build their knowledge themselves.

Reading and writing are two closely related activities, the effectiveness of which is well articulated when practiced. They are acquired throughout schooling, in interaction with other learning; however, cycle 2 is a defining period.

 

At the end of the three years which now constitute this cycle, the student must have acquired an initial autonomy in reading a variety of texts, adapted to their age. The practice of these texts leads them to broaden the field of their knowledge, to increase references and models for writing, to increase the number of objects of curiosity or interest, to refine their thinking.

Cycle 3: consolidation cycle (CM1, CM2 and 6ème)

Cycle 3 now links the last two years of primary school and the first year of middle school, with a stronger concern for pedagogical continuity and consistency of learning in the service of the acquisition of a common base of knowledge, skills and culture. . The 6th class occupies a special place in the cycle: it allows students to adapt to the pace, the pedagogical organization and the living environment of the college while being in the continuity of the learning undertaken in CM1 and CM2. .

Cycle 4: advanced cycle (5th, 4th and 3rd classes)

EFIC students attend high school classes face-to-face, via the CNED (National Distance Learning Center) which provides them with course materials, homework and monitors their schooling (class councils, move to a higher class, etc.).

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

On site, the students are supervised by teaching instructors who guide and help them throughout the year as part of a personalized program.

* DNL: Non Linguistic Discipline

Les différents cycles

Cycle 1 : la maternelle un cycle unique et fondamental

L’objectif principal de l’école maternelle est de permettre à l’enfant de devenir un élève autonome c’est à dire donner le goût d’aller à l’école pour apprendre, affirmer et épanouir sa personnalité. Pour cela, elle s’adapte au rythme de chacun en développant les capacités motrices, sensorielles, relationnelles et intellectuelles.

Les apprentissages sont structurés autour de 5 domaines : 

- Mobiliser le langage dans toutes ses dimensions,

- Agir, s’exprimer, comprendre à travers l’activité physique,

- Agir, s’exprimer, comprendre à travers les activités artistiques,

- Construire les premiers outils pour structurer sa pensée,

- Explorer le monde.

En maternelle : 8 heures sont enseignées en anglais (soit un tiers du temps).
Ces 8 heures sont consacrées soit à l’étude de la langue soit aux enseignements de DNL* (arts, sport, histoire).

Les enseignements de DNL étant assurés en « co-intervention », en présence d'un enseignant francophone et d'un enseignant anglophone.

Cycle 2 : cycle des apprentissages fondamentaux (CP, CE1, et CE2)

Notre méthode pédagogique permet l’acquisition progressive des compétences fixées par le ministère français de l’Éducation Nationale.

Les projets mis en place par les équipes pédagogiques incluent un travail par compétences (projets de lecture, scientifiques ou transversaux). Il s’agit de manipuler, d’expérimenter, de développer des hypothèses, de les vérifier et de résoudre des problèmes.

Tout cela, dans le seul objectif de permettre aux enfants d’être acteurs de leurs apprentissages. Nous ne souhaitons pas inonder nos élèves d’informations, mais qu’ils construisent eux-mêmes leurs connaissances.

Lecture et écriture sont deux activités intimement liées dont une pratique bien articulée consolide l'efficacité. Leur acquisition s'effectue tout au long de la scolarité, en interaction avec les autres apprentissages ; néanmoins, le cycle 2 constitue une période déterminante.

 

Au terme des trois années qui constituent désormais ce cycle, les élèves doivent avoir acquis une première autonomie dans la lecture de textes variés, adaptés à leur âge. La pratique de ces textes les conduit à élargir le champ de leurs connaissances, à accroitre les références et les modèles pour écrire, à multiplier les objets de curiosité ou d'intérêt, à affiner leur pensée.

Cycle 3 : cycle de consolidation (CM1, CM2 et 6ème)

Le cycle 3 relie désormais les deux dernières années de l'école primaire et la première année du collège, dans un souci renforcé de continuité pédagogique et de cohérence des apprentissages au service de l'acquisition du socle commun de connaissances, de compétences et de culture. La classe de 6e occupe une place particulière dans le cycle : elle permet aux élèves de s'adapter au rythme, à l'organisation pédagogique et au cadre de vie du collège tout en se situant dans la continuité des apprentissages engagés au CM1 et au CM2.

Cycle 4 : cycle des approfondissements (classes de 5ème, 4ème et 3ème)

Les élèves de l'EFIC suivent les cours du lycée en présentiel, via le CNED (Centre National d'Enseignement à Distance) qui leur fournit les supports de cours, les devoirs et assure le suivi de leur scolarité (conseils de classes, avis de passage en classe supérieure, etc...). 

Sur place, les élèves sont encadrés par des répétiteurs pédagogiques qui les guident et les aident toute l'année dans le cadre d'un programme personnalisé.

*DNL : Discipline Non Linguistique